Three Windies players refuse to travel for England series: Report

West Indies' Oshane Thomas (3rd R) celebrates with his teammates after dismissing Sri Lanka's Dasun Shanaka during the first Twenty20 international cricket match of a two-match series between Sri Lanka and West Indies at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy on March 4, 2020. (Photo by ISHARA S. KODIKARA / AFP)

As the pandemic has arrested international matches between the countries, England and West Indies cricket teams are beginning their 3 Test series from July 8th, 2020 in Southampton’s Ageas Bowl, and Old Trafford cricket ground in Manchester, England, after quarantining the players for three weeks. After the approval of the United Kingdom governance for the behind door matches, the cricket board of West Indies has arranged the travel for the Windies players.

The Cricket West Indies board, who had addressed the media, said that Darren Bravo, Keemo Paul, and Shimron Hetmyer had declined to tour, and the West Indies cricket board has also left players to their decision with respect when knowing the current situation around the globe. Two other Windies cricketers, the board had recruited for the England tour, are the newcomers to the team. Nkrumah Bonner, the middle-order batsman, and the fast bowler Chemar Holder is joining the Wisden Trophy tour in England. Bonner, before this Test debut, had spotted for heaping 523 runs in 7 matches, by the Cricket West Indies board and represented his nation in T20i internationals in the year 2011, and 2012. Holder, who is not related to the squad’s captain Jason Holder has prolific 36 wickets from 8 matches played. 

Windies squad includes Alzarri Joseph, Chemar Holder, Jason Holder (Captain), Jermaine Blackwood, John Campbell, Kemar Roach, Kraigg Brathwaite, Nkrumah Bonner, Rahkeem Cornwall, Raymon Reifer, Roston Chase, Shai Hope, Shamarh Brooks, and Shane Dowrich. 

Be the first to comment on "Three Windies players refuse to travel for England series: Report"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.