Sri Lanka vs India 1st T20I: Suryakumar Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar Star in India’s Victory

India beat Sri Lanka by 38 runs in the first T20I at R.Premadasa Stadium on Sunday. India takes a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series. Suryakumar Yadav scored a half-century while the Indian skipper Shikhar Dhawan contributed 46 off 36 balls as India scored a defendable total of 164/5 in the 20 overs.

Chasing a target of 165, Sri Lankans were all out for 126 in 18.3 overs. Indian blowers outclassed the hosts by taking their last six wickets for only 15 runs. Debutant Charith Asalanka played attacking innings for his 44 off 26 balls, top-scoring for Sri Lanka. Indian Vice-captain Bhuvneshwar Kumar took four wickets and pacer Deepak Chahar picked up a couple.

Sri Lankan pacer Dushmantha Chammera strike in the very first delivery of the match as his out-swinger found the edge of Prithvi’s bat. Suryakumar Yadav continued his supreme form and played excellent shots against both pacers and spinners. Suryakumar scored an attractive 50 off 34 balls, his second half-century in T20I. Skipper Dhawan and Suryakumar added 62 runs in eight overs to provide a decent score for India.

Deepak Chahar turned the match in favor of India, as he dismissed dangerous Charith Asalanka and Wanindu Hasaranga in the same over. Debutant Varun Chakravarthy took his maiden T20I wicket when Ishan removed the bails as Shanaka’s foot was in the air. Bhuvneshwar Kumar varied his lengths and bowled beautifully in the end to finish off the proceedings. Bhuvneshwar Kumar received the player of the match award for his 4-wicket haul.  

Be the first to comment on "Sri Lanka vs India 1st T20I: Suryakumar Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar Star in India’s Victory"

Leave a comment