Ranji Trophy Match drawn as weather has final say

Delhi Vs Bengal the Ranji Trophy match was held at Kolkata Eden Garden from 27th – 29th January 2020. Delhi won the toss and decided to field. Bengal scored the first innings as 318 for all out and Delhi achieved 242 runs with couple more batsmen left to bat the umpires announced to draw the game due to lack of light and unstoppable rainy weather.

Abhishek Raman the Bengal player was soon sent out by Delhi seamer Simarjeet Singh for 9 runs. Koushik Ghosh fell by Kulwant Khejroliya bowling who stayed until and batted 49 runs.   

KJ Saifi 9 runs and the Bengal team’s captain MK Tiwary 7 runs were both stumped by Vikas Mishra, a back-to-back wicket for the Delhi bowler. AP Majumdar 99(189) runs and Shreevats Goswami 59(84) runs had the runs heaped, the former had a run-out and the latter by Mishra’s delivery. With Shahbaz Ahmed 46(74) runs, a chase of 318 was set.

The Bengal team’s bowlers were into action and Mukesh Kumar did remove the Delhi’s team head, DR Shorey for 65 runs, Nitish Rana 24(68), and Anuj Rawat with lbw for a duck. Kumar’s Bengal’s bowler bowled few no-ball deliveries which gave Delhi’s not out batsmen Jonty Sidhu 53(108) and S Bhati 26(49) runs had team backed with 242-7. Rain brought the match to draw. The Bengal’s coach complained about no-ball deliveries from Kumar and threatened with fine if Kumar continued the same in the future.

Be the first to comment on "Ranji Trophy Match drawn as weather has final say"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.