MI take their first win of the season by defeating KKR by 49 runs

KKR suffered a crushing 49-run defeat in their first match of the 13th season of India’s top-tier cricket league. The 80-run stormy innings from Rohit Sharma overshadowed KKR. Mumbai ended up finishing with 195/5 in 20 overs after losing the toss. In response, the entire KKR could only make 146/9. Karthik and Nitish Rana also could not convert a good start into a big score as both added 46 runs for the third wicket. Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar each got 2 wickets, while Kieron Pollard took one wicket.

Trent Boult put on pressure over KKR’’s batsmen right from the first over. In the third over of the innings, he delivered the first blow by dismissing Shubman Gill as he was caught out by Pollard seven runs.

Eoin Morgan came fresh from playing some great innings for England in the limited-overs format. Apart from the Englishman KKR expected a charisma from their star batsman Andre Russell. But both of them could not stand ahead of Bumrah’s bowling. As the MI’s star bowler sent all the hopes of Kolkata out of the ground in a single over.

Since 2013, the KKR had been winning their first match of the tournament. Seven years ago, they defeated the then Delhi Daredevils by six wickets. Mumbai was also defeated by KKR twice (2014, 2015) in the opening match, but this time they had to taste defeat themselves.

Be the first to comment on "MI take their first win of the season by defeating KKR by 49 runs"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.