Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer shine as India crush Sri Lanka in the series opener

India kicked off the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka with a handsome 62-run win in the series first T20I at the Ekana Cricket Stadium. Men in blue cruised to their 10th consecutive T20I win with a remarkable victory over the Lankans. Defending a total of 199-runs, Indian bowlers delivered a clinical performance to restrict the Lankans for 137/6 in 20 overs. Earlier, India rode on blistering knocks from Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer.

After being put in to bat first, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan got off to a brilliant start as the opening pair added 111-run for the first wicket. After a long search, Lahiru Kumara made the breakthrough by dismissing Rohit for 44-run in the 12th over. Shreyas Iyer then joined Ishan in the middle.

Ishan took charge and batted superbly to score runs by hitting boundaries. Ishan proved his potential and scored a brisk 89-run before Dasun Shanaka scalped him in the 17th over. Iyer then carried the mantle and powered India to reach 199/2 in 20 overs. He remained unbeaten on 57-run with a strike rate of 203.57.

India stunned the Lankans as Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled out Pathum Nissanka in the very first ball of the innings. Bhuvneshwar took his second wicket by dismissing Kamil Mishara (13) in his next over. Janith Liyanage and Charith Asalanka (53) looked to steady the Lankan ship but Venkatesh Iyer scalped Liyanage for 11.

India bowlers continued to apply pressure by taking wickets at regular intervals. India restricted Sri Lanka to 137/6 to secure the win. Bhuvneshwar and Iyer took two wickets each while Ravindra Jadeja and Yuzvendra Chahal finished with one wicket each.