IPL 2022: Retention of players by eight IPL franchises


Board of Control for Cricket in India revealed the list of 27 players, who have been retained by the existing eight franchises of the Indian Premier League. Each franchise was allowed to retain a maximum of four Indian players and two overseas players. It turned out to be an exciting time for cricket fans as many of the star players were left out. Surprisingly, some uncapped players were retained by their franchises. MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, and Rohit Sharma will continue to don CSK, RCB, and MI.

Chennai Super Kings retained its core team, which includes captain cool MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Moeen Ali. However, most of the CSK fans would feel so bad for leaving out Suresh Raina and Faf du Plessis. Five-time champion Mumbai Indians made a last-minute change and chose Suryakumar Yadav over Ishan Kishan. The other three retained players are Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Kieron Pollard.

Delhi Capitals retained their elegant players but shocked many by leaving out Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer. DC retained Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, and Anrich Nortje. Royal Challengers Bangalore retained their two main stars Kohli and Glenn Maxwell, along with pacer Mohammed Siraj.

Kolkata Knight Riders retained West Indian warhorses, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell, along with Varun Chakravarthy and young all-rounder Venkatesh Iyer. Rajasthan Royals decided not to think big and settled for Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, and young uncapped opener Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Punjab Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad surprised everyone by retaining uncapped Indian players. Punjab retained Mayank Agarwal and the uncapped Arshdeep Singh after KL Rahul decided to move on. Sunrisers Hyderabad retained its captain Kane Williamson and young guns Abdul Samad and Umran Malik.

Be the first to comment on "IPL 2022: Retention of players by eight IPL franchises"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.