India won the final T20I by six wickets to white-wash the Lankans

India clinched a six-wicket win against Sri Lanka to sweep the T20I series 3-0. Men in blue registered their 12th consecutive T20 victory and fourth clean sweep under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. Chasing a target of 147, India lost Rohit and Sanju Samson early. However, Shreyas Iyer played brilliantly and helped India to secure the win with an unbeaten knock of 73-runs.  

Earlier, the Lankans had a poor start after deciding to bat first. Mohammed Siraj stunned the Lankans by bowling out Danushka Gunathilaka for a golden duck. Avesh Khan struck in the second over to dismiss Pathum Nissanka for just 1-run.  India applied huge pressure on the Lankans as Avesh scalped Charith Asalanka in the fourth over.

Ravi Bishnoi then dismissed Janith Liyanage, leaving Sri Lanka reeling at 29/4. But the Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka produced a fighting innings to steady their ship. Shanaka alongside Dinesh Chandimal (22) added 31-runs for the fifth wicket. Shanaka scored an explosive 74-run under pressure and helped his side to reach a decent total of 146/5 in 20overs. Avesh bagged two wickets while Siraj, Bishnoi, and Harshal Patel picked up one wicket each.

India started the chase poorly as Dushmantha Chameera dismissed Rohit for just a 5-run. Samson (18) walked back soon after edging Chamika Karunaratne to the wicket-keeper. However, Iyer and Deepak Hooda batted superbly to add 38-runs for the third wicket.

The Lankans came back strongly when Lahiru Kumara struck twice to dismiss. But Shreyas and Ravindra Jadeja played excellently to reach the target in the 17th over. Jadeja played a cameo of 22-run towards the end.