David Warner and bowlers guided Delhi Capitals to clinch their first win in IPL 2023

Nitish Rana of Kolkata Knight Riders celebrating the wicket during match 28 of the Tata Indian Premier League between the Delhi Capitals and the Kolkata Knight Riders held at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi on the 20th April 2023 Photo by: Saikat Das / SPORTZPICS for IPL

Delhi Capitals (DC) produced an all-round performance to beat Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 4 wickets, registering their first win of the season at Arun Jaitely Stadium. Chasing a moderate 127, DC skipper David Warner led from the front with a top-score knock of 57. Kulwant Khejroliya was tasked with the job to defend seven runs from the final over but a couple from the first two balls followed by a no-ball made the work light for Axar Patel who hit the winning shot.

Warner’s decision to bowl first gave DC a good start as their pacers scalped three quick wickets inside the powerplay overs. Venkatesh Iyer who hit a century in the last game went back for a duck. Ishant Sharma who played after nearly one and a half years bowled well to dismiss KKR captain Nitish Rana (4).

KKR middle-order batters failed to make an impact as they kept losing wickets in quick intervals. KKR opener Jason Roy played an anchoring inning of 43 while hard-hitter Andre Russell played a crucial 38-run knock toward the end. A combined bowling performance helped DC bundle out KKR for 127 in 20 overs. Ishant, Anrich Nortje, Axar, and Kuldeep Yadav bagged two each while Mukesh Kumar scalped one.

DC’s chase got off to a decent start but Prithvi Shaw (13) yet again failed to score more runs, Varun Chakaravarthy cleaning him up in the 5th over. Warner lacked support from other DC batters as they walked one after another to the dressing room. Manish Pandey chipped in with 21 while Axar fought and stayed till the end with an unbeaten 19 to seal the win.

Be the first to comment on "David Warner and bowlers guided Delhi Capitals to clinch their first win in IPL 2023"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.