BCCI announced Indian squad for T20World cup, MS Dhoni appointed as team mentor


Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the Indian squad for Men’s T20 World cup. BCCI secretary Jay Shah along with the chief selector Chetan Sharma announced the 15-member squad. The All-India Senior Selection Committee met in Mumbai while skipper Virat Kohli joined the meeting from Manchester.

Five spinners have been included in the team namely Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy. Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was the unlucky to miss out the big tournament. Indian middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer has been picked as a reserve player.

The selectors have the trusted trio of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami for the pace attack. Indian seamers Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur missed a place in the main squad, but they are in the reserves.

India has a strong batting line-up with players like Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, and Hardik Pandya. Ishan Kishan has been added as the second wicket-keeper batsman.  

BCCI announced that Virat Kohli will lead the Men in blue at the T20 World Cup which begins from 17th October in the UAE and Oman. The biggest decision is the inclusion of veteran off-spinner Ravi Ashwin, who has not played in T20 international match since 2017.

Former Indian legendary captain MS Dhoni has been appointed as mentor for the Indian team. Captain cool’s vast experience and guidance will benefit the Indian men during the world cup tournament. BCCI President Sourav Ganguly said that he is delighted to have MS Dhoni on board. Dhoni led the Indian team to win the 2007 T20 World cup in South Africa.  

Be the first to comment on "BCCI announced Indian squad for T20World cup, MS Dhoni appointed as team mentor"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.