BCCI announce 18-man squad for the first two Tests of the series between India vs England

The four-match Test series between India and England starts on 5 February. Team India has been announced for the first two Tests of the series. Captain Virat Kohli, Ishant Sharma and Hardik Pandya have been included in the Indian Test team. Left-arm spinner Axar Patel has been retained in the Test squad for the first time while the squad does not include Natarajan and Navdeep Saini.
Kohli did not play the last three Tests against Australia. He accompanied his wife Anushka Sharma during the birth of their first child. Ishant has proved his fitness by playing in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and has not played a Test match since February last year. He returned to India in the middle of IPL 2020 due to stomach problems. He is only 3 matches away from playing 100 Tests a feat only Kapil Dev achieved as a fast bowler.
Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj and Shardul Thakur have done well in Australia. All three have been successful in retaining their place. Siraj claimed 13 wickets in three Tests. On the other hand, apart from taking seven wickets in the last Test, Shardul had also scored the required half-century. In the spin department, Ashwin has been retained in the team despite a back problem. He is accompanied by Washington Sundar and Kuldeep Yadav. Sundar, besides taking four wickets in the Brisbane Test, also batted brilliantly in both innings.

Be the first to comment on "BCCI announce 18-man squad for the first two Tests of the series between India vs England"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.