Australia won the 2nd ODI by 51 runs to clinch the series against India

The three-match ODI series between hosts Australia and India was played at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Australia batting first scored 389 runs for 4 wickets. In return India was able to score 338 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. Australia by winning the match by 51 runs has also won the series.

Australia captain Aaron Finch decided to bat after winning the toss for the second consecutive match. Australia in the first innings, with the help of Steve Smith’s century, David Warner, Finch, Marnus Labushane and Glenn Maxwell scored 389 runs.

Shikhar Dhawan and Mayank Agarwal came into the field to chase yet another high target. After a good start, India after having a good start Dhawan was dismissed by Josh Hazlewood for 30 runs in the eighth over and later Pat Cummins dismissed Mayank Agarwal giving India their second blow. Following them, Shreyas Iyer was dismissed for 38 runs when Smith caught the ball.

Indian team captain Virat Kohli played brilliantly and reached the 59th half-century of his ODI international career. When Kohli was batting at 89 runs he was caught by Heinrichs off Hazlewood. KL Rahul also scored his half-century but returned to the pavilion soon after being dismissed by Adam Zampa for 76 runs.

Cummins took the wickets of Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya off two consecutive balls and destroyed India’s hopes. Jadeja was dismissed for 24 while Hardik scored 28 runs.

Be the first to comment on "Australia won the 2nd ODI by 51 runs to clinch the series against India"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.