Australia reach sixth straight women’s T20 Word Cup Final

Australian women’s through to the T20 finals for the 6th time, to play with maiden finalist’s Indian women’s team. This was also a decider match between South Africa and Australia to play for the T20 Cup with Indian women’s, at Melbourne.

South Africa decided to bowl first by winning the toss, Nadine de Klerk took 3 wickets for the team, Beth Mooney 28(24) runs, Ashleigh Gardner for a duck and Rachael Haynes 17(18) runs. The captain of the Australian women’s cricket team Meg Lanning scored 49(49) runs not out, and set a chase of 134-5 in 20 overs.  Drops of rain began to wet the ground, and once the sheets were off, the match continued, based on the DLS method. South Africa women’s team need to score 98 runs in 13 overs in the day’s match.

Australian women’s cricket team restricted the South African batswomen in the start, 3 vital wickets fell in 4.4 overs bowled. Lizelle Lee sent after 10 runs, D van Niekerk 12(12) runs, and Sune Luus scored 21(22) runs. Chloe Tryon and Nadine Klerk were quickly removed from the field summing 7 runs from 4 balls, but Laura Wolvaardt fought strongly until last over and earned 41(27) runs. South Africa lost with 3 runs less to the target.

The 2020 World Cup finals in the T20 match between the Australian women’s and Indian women’s cricket team will take place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 8th March.

Be the first to comment on "Australia reach sixth straight women’s T20 Word Cup Final"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.