MS Dhoni’s CSK beat Gujarat Titans to clinch record-equaling 5th IPL title

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) produced a breath-taking performance to beat Gujarat Titans (GT) by 5 wickets in the grand finale, clinching a record-equaling fifth Indian Premier League (IPL) title. Chasing a revised target of 171 in 15 overs, Devon Conway (47) and Shivam Dube (32*) were the top performers for CSK. But the hero of the night was Ravindra Jadeja (15*), who kept his calm to bat exceptionally well, smashing a six and a four when 10 runs were needed off the last two balls. Dhoni was seen lifting Jadeja for securing a memorable win for his side.

After being put into bat first, Wriddhiman Saha and Shubman Gill gave GT a strong start, scoring 67 runs in the powerplay overs. Earlier, Deepak Chahar dropped a sitter for Gill. But GOAT Dhoni made the breakthrough in the 7th over, stumping Gill (39) in just 0.12 seconds of reaction time. Saha and Sai Sudharsan then took on the charge, adding 64 runs for the second wicket.

CSK skipper Dhoni took a fine catch to dismiss Saha for 54. But Sudharsan kept on playing an attacking game and rained boundaries to score runs at a strike rate of 204. The left-handed batter departed after playing a sensational inning of 47-balls 96 while Hardik Pandya remained unbeaten on 21. GT posted a massive total of 214/4 in 20 overs.

Later on, rain halted CSK’s chase even before completing the first over. However, play resumed nearly after two hours when the rain stopped. Ruturaj Gaikwad (26) and Conway gave CSK an excellent start, adding 74 runs in 6 overs. But Noor Ahmad brought GT into the game with a double strike in the 7th over. Ajinkya Rahane and Ambati Rayudu kept CSK in the hunt by playing cameos of 27 and 19 respectively. Finally, the Yellow Army was delighted when Jadeja hit the winning runs.    

Be the first to comment on "MS Dhoni’s CSK beat Gujarat Titans to clinch record-equaling 5th IPL title"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.