29-member squad announced by Pakistan Cricket Board for England tour

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced a 29-member squad for the tour of England scheduled for August-September. The series consists of three Tests and three T20 matches. This is the first series Pakistan will be playing since the pandemic. The squad announced by PCB includes two uncapped players Haider Ali and Kashif Bhatti while some senior players opt to miss the tour.

Haider Ali is one of the newfound talents emerging from the cricketing nation, he has also captained the national team in the U-19 format of the game. In June Haider Ali scored 317 runs against South Africa. He blasted a century in the finals of Quaid-E-Azam Trophy in which the world saw him rack in 645 runs at an average of 50 during the tournament.

On the other hand, Kashif Bhatti had earlier sealed a berth in Pakistan’s Test squad against Sri Lanka and Australia but was not awarded a place in the playing 11-member squad in both the series. Fawad Alam, Faheem Ashraf, Imran Khan, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, and Wahab Riaz are the other players selected by the board. Musa Khan, Bilal Asif, Imran Butt, and Mohammad Nawaz are the reserve players for the overseas series.

Hasan Ali was not available due to a back injury while Harris Sohail opted out of the tour due to the concerns surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic. Mohammad Amir is unavailable since he is expecting the birth of his second child.

Be the first to comment on "29-member squad announced by Pakistan Cricket Board for England tour"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.